京那巴当岸河

京那巴当岸河是沙巴最为庞大,马来西亚第二长的河流,位于山打根市中心的两小时车程以外。当然,我们能够有好几种形式沿河探索野生动物。

其中我们意料可见的野生动物包含人猿、长鼻猴、婆罗洲侏儒象、犀鸟、翠鸟、鳄鱼、各种蛇类、昼伏夜出的灵长类动物如眼镜猴及懒猴。当然我们不能够保证一定能见着它们,但是至少有可能就很令人振奋了!

去京河其中较简单和方便的方式就是直接联系当地旅游经营者,原因为(一)他们通常安排大家组成一群一起出发,省下了不必要的操作费用,并(二)无忧虑无障碍旅游,因为所需要的安排都包含在配套里了,如住宿与车程。

那么一个人大概要花多少钱呢?价格当然因各人偏爱的包含事项而异。

一般的配套包含如下:

  •  一日一夜 风扇宿舍式床位 @ 一人RM 329.00

包含一夜住宿、山打根来回程、三餐(一午餐、一晚餐及一早餐)、活动(一下午游船及一上午游船)及当地导游*

  •  两日两夜 风扇宿舍式床位 @ 一人RM 385.00

包含两夜住宿、山打根来回程、六餐(两午餐、两晚餐及两早餐)、活动(两下午游船、一上午游船及一丛林徒步游)及当地导游*

*华语导游需提前要求安排

夜间徒步游是我们常推荐的额外可选活动。如上所述,您也可能看见一些有趣的、夜间出没的昼伏夜出的灵长类动物或其他正休息的动物。而这活动的价格也十分合理,一人一小时仅RM10

京河一日游也是可以安排的。只是,如果不受时间约束,我们通常建议在京河过夜。配套价格差距极小,过夜却有更多的包含及能够更充分体验京河的大自然。然而,一日游的价格为一人RM 245.00,包含山打根来回程、一午餐、及一下午游船。

哥曼东洞也是京河游的一项额外可选活动,价格为一人额外的RM 50.00。这洞的公开部分的确比许多洞穴小,也不如其它洞穴花俏。但是参观这洞绝对是一项开眼的体验。喜欢与否,由您体验判断。;)

西灵岸海龟岛

誉为国家公园之一,到这岛的交通还是很受管制的,每日的人流也十分有限。

从珍惜大自然的角度切入,这岛上的人所做的是值得钦佩的。除了这岛的压轴——海龟,这岛本身的沙滩的日出、日落和日光浴都很棒;加上浮浅时可见的海洋生物、周边窥探觅食的四脚蛇更显这里的自然生态。

话归这岛的压轴,这岛是绿蠵龟与玳瑁海龟上岸产卵所青睐中意之地。莅临此岛,您将见证产卵过程、学习孵卵所的工作及放生海龟宝宝去探索世界。您也可以赞助他们,支持他们的保育工作。

若不是提前预订,要到西灵岸海龟岛是十分靠运气的,价格也随需求变动。两人一房的价格约一人RM690.00;而若您一人独自旅游,包含单人额外收费的价格将会是RM850.00一人。基本上这就是一项一日一夜游,早上10时出发,隔日早上回到山打根。从山打根出发到西灵岸约有1小时的船乘。白天就是办入住及自由活动,可以到海滩活动或浮浅。晚上6时以后就是准备享用晚餐及等待海龟出现。这价格所包含的有住宿、来回程、三餐(午餐、晚餐及早餐)、活动(看海龟!)及当地导游*。

*华语导游需提前要求安排

备注:若您去了西灵岸岛,请遵守使用相机的规则、自由使用海滩的时间规定及其他的规则。您的合作是对此保育工作的支持。

西必洛一日自由行

您肯定听说过山打根著名的红毛猩猩,也称人猿。而西必洛人猿保护中心是其中一个可以见着它们的地方。不止人猿,同一个地区也有仅两分钟步行距离的婆羅洲馬來熊保育中心,及700米以外的热带雨林探索中心

从青旅启程,三分钟步行能达一巴士站,到西必洛的公共巴士每程RM6.00,班次于早上9时及下午2时;从西必洛最迟一班回程为下午4时。所建议的行程如下:

早上9:00 - 从市中心乘14号巴士到西必洛(约30-40分钟车程)

早上10:00 - 人猿第一喂食时间与人猿育幼所(入门票一人RM 30.00,可同日用于第一及第二喂食时间)

早上11:30 - 婆羅洲馬來熊保育中心(营业时间:早上 9:00至下午3:30,入门票一人RM 30.00

中午12:30 - 周边享用简单食物,便步行到热带雨林探索中心(入门票一人 RM 15.00)可作树冠步行及丛林徒步游

下午2:30 - 取决于各活动后所剩的时间,这时候也可以考虑回到人猿中心参观下午3:00的第二喂食

下午4:00 - 回市中心的最后一班巴士

 

以上行程可以自由行,无需导游。巴士收费及入门票加起来总共一人RM87.00。

*备注:以上入门票为非居民游客价格。

拉卜湾长鼻猴保护所

在婆罗洲,有着这么一种猴子是许多人看着觉得好笑的,隆重介绍——长鼻猴。根据网上资料显示,长鼻猴是婆罗洲独有的动物。这独有专利就是一种责任,所以拉卜湾长鼻猴保护所的保育工作更显可贵。当然婆罗洲的别处还是能见到这长鼻猴的,不过这中心的体验就是能在近距离看见它们。

从青旅出发,可以乘搭他们所安排的接送服务。每早上9:30出发,接送点位于青旅步行3分钟以外,费用为一人RM20.00。抵达后,入门票为一人RM60.00。从中心的回程将会在下午3:00一样的收费。。

所以当日的费用大约RM100.00,不包含食物,相机收费(RM10.00)等。

*备注:以上入门票为非居民游客价格。

日落与萤火虫体验游

如果要点评交通最不便的地方,山打根很可能也在此名单中了。位于市外40分钟车程以外,有着这么一个小村子,旁边有着小河流和红树林。这就是夜间看萤火虫的好地方了。

这游览行程是由当地村民操办,价格为一人RM85.00,活动包含体验村民的日常如乡下游戏及红树林游河时植入和收取螃蟹笼。运气好的话,还能看见野生动物的出没,如长鼻猴。游河途中,会停顿在一小岛,喝喝椰水、看看日落。日落后,您将以相同或不同的路线返程回村子里,这途中将寻找萤火虫密集的地方。这一项游览活动还是偏少游客,而活动也在大自然里,运气好的话,就是会有一些惊喜的经历。回到村里就是晚饭时间,晚饭额外收费为一人RM30.00,您也可以选择直接返回市区,大约晚上8:00回到就自己安排晚餐。这样,游览就结束了。

这村子的地点还是偏远,我们都建议游客直接与他们安排接送,一辆轿车接送为RM70.00,可容纳四人,这价格还是十分合理的。

山打根历史半日游

山打根是其一受世界第二大战影响的地方,而这事是值得我们纪念的。走在山打根古迹游览线的一些地点中,如圣米迦勒与诸天使堂、艾格尼斯·凯斯故居,都能让我们犹如管中窥豹,能稍微想象当年所发生的事情。当然不是所有的古迹都与世界第二大战完全有关,可是这些地方都是发生爆炸以后幸存的老地方。

这些古迹地点都是从青旅步行就能抵达的,多数地方都不收取入门费;一些收取入门费的也是很小的数目为的是维持保养那地方或必须聘请人手看顾的地方。游这古迹游览线大概能花上一至二小时,取决于您是否把每个点都游一遍。

另外一个能够让我们更了解历史上所发生的事,就是山打根纪念公园,位于市区的7英里以外。从市区乘公共巴士抵达公园的路口,大概一人RM2.00至RM3.00,从路口走到公园大概700米距离。这公园就是个休闲散步的好地方,里面也有一些当年事件的资讯,花上一两个小时还是很不错的。

KINABATANGAN RIVER

Kinabatangan River is largest river of Sabah, the second longest river of Malaysia, located approximately 2 hours drive from the Sandakan Town. There are of course several ways you may explore the wildlife along the river.

Some of the animals you can expect from the wildlife by the river are Orang Utans, Proboscis Monkeys, Bornean Pygmy Elephants, Hornbill Birds, Kingfishers, Crocodiles, various types of snakes, some nocturnal primates like Western Tarsier and Slow Loris. We cannot guarantee you see all of them if you are considering to go there, but the possibility itself is exciting!

One of the easier and more convenient way of doing it is to go with a tour operator, reasons being (i) going with a group shares the cost, and (ii) hassle-free as everything you need is packaged, including accommodation and transfers.

How much should you be expecting to spend for each person? Prices can vary with the inclusions that you are expecting. 

A rough idea of the package will be as follows:

- 1D1N Fan Dormitory @ RM 329.00/person

inclusive of accommodation for 1 night, transfers from and to Sandakan, meals (1 lunch, 1 dinner and 1 breakfast), activities (1 afternoon cruise and 1 morning cruise) and in-house guide

- 2D2N Fan Dormitory @ RM 385.00/person

inclusive of accommodation for 2 nights, transfers from and to Sandakan, meals (2 lunch, 2 dinner and 2 breakfast), activities (2 afternoon cruises, 1 morning cruise and one jungle trekking) and in-house guide

Night walk is an optional activity where we recommend. As mentioned, you might be able to see some nocturnal primates and other animals which are also very interesting. It will be RM 10/person/hour, which is very reasonable.

Day trip to the river is also possible. However, we would normally recommend to stay by the river overnight if your itinerary allows as the price is not such a big difference but you get more inclusions and you get to maximise the experience. The price for day trip will be at RM 245.00/person, and it is only inclusive of 1 lunch, 1 afternoon cruise and the transfers. 

The Gomantong Cave is also an optional addition to the package with the cost of RM 50.00/person additional. The opened area of the cave is indeed smaller and not as fancy compared to many caves. Whether you like it or not, we will let you judge, but it is definitely an experience. ;)

SELINGAN TURTLE ISLAND

Being one of the islands categorized as the National Park, the accessibility to the island made more challenging, the capacity of human beings allowed each day is also very limited. 

From the eyes of appreciating the nature, the effort of what people are doing on the island deserves an applause. Apart from the highlight of the island - the sea turtles, this place is already awesome with the beach they have for sunset, sunrise and sun-tan, what more the living creatures you can see from just snorkeling around and the sneaky monitor lizards around preying for little creatures as food. 

Back to the highlight of this island, it is the fondness of Green Turtle and Hawksbill Turtle for the island as the place for them to lay their hopes of the next generations. By visiting the island, you will be able to witness the laying of turtle eggs, to learn about the hatchery, and to release some new lives towards their great adventure. You may also adopt the baby turtles to support their effort.

To go to the Selingan Turtle Island, it depends on your luck if you manage to get an availability and the price can varies with time. Roughly, it will cost around RM 690.00/person (minimum of 2 persons for 1 room). If you are traveling alone, you will be paying RM 850.00 inclusive of the single supplement charge. Basically, it will be a 1D1N trip, where you depart at approximately 10:00AM on Day 1 and back to Sandakan at around 8:00AM on Day 2. It will be a 1-hour boat ride to the island from Sandakan. During the day, you get to enjoy the beach and the snorkel. After 6:00PM, you will have food and wait for turtle time! The price of the tour will be inclusive of accommodation, transfers, meals (1 lunch, 1 dinner and 1 breakfast), activities (turtle time!) and in-house guide.

Note: If you ever go to the Selingan Turtle Island, please abide to the rules and regulations of the usage of camera, schedule set of go to the beach and the other safety regulations. Your cooperation will support the cause. 

ONE DAY AT SEPILOK

You must have heard about the Orang Utan we have in Sandakan, and Sepilok Orang Utan Sanctuary is one of the places you can see them! Not just Orang Utan, you can also see the Sun Bear at the Bornean Sun Bear Conservation Center, which is 2 minutes away across the road, and the Rainforest Discovery Center (RDC) that is 700 meters away. 

To get there from the hostel, walk 3 minutes to the mini bus station, get a public bus at RM 6.00 per person per trip at 9AM or 2PM to Sepilok, the last bus that comes back to the town is at 4:00PM from the Sepilok. Suggested schedule for the day as follows: 

9:00AM - Bus 14 from town to Sepilok (30-40 minutes bus journey) 

10:00AM - Orang Utan first feeding & the Orang Utan Nursery (Entrance Ticket at RM 30.00/person, can be used for both feeding time of the day)

11:30AM - Bornean Sun Bear Conservation Center (Opening time: 9:00AM-3:30PM, Entrance Ticket at RM 30.00/person)

12:30PM - Grab some food and walk to Rainforest Discovery Centre (Entrance ticket at RM 15.00/person) for some canopy walk and jungle trekking

2:30PM - Depending on time available after all the activities, may consider to go back to Orang Utan for second feeding at 3:00PM.

4:00PM - Last bus coming back to the town. 

This, you can consider do it on your own without a guide. The bus fares and the entrances fees will cost RM 87.00 in total per person.

*Note: The entrance fee mentioned is applicable to non-resident.

LABUK BAY PROBOSCIS MONKEY SANCTUARY

In Borneo, we have this type of monkey that people find funny, introducing the nose-monkey. According to some online resources, Proboscis Monkey is found exclusively in Borneo. That exclusivity is a responsibility, which makes this Labuk Bay Sanctuary one of the good effort in encouraging the increase of their population. This will not be the only place you can see the Proboscis Monkeys in Borneo, but one of the experience worth mentioning is that you get to see them at a very close distance. 

To get there from the hostel, you may get the shuttle bus that they arranged. The bus runs everyday in the morning at 9:30AM from the pick up point 3 minutes walk from the hostel with a fee at RM 20.00/person. The entrance fee will be RM 60.00/person. While the bus that comes back from the sanctuary will be at 3:00PM with the same fare. 

Therefore, it will cost RM 100.00 for that day itself excluding the food, camera fee (RM 10.00) and etc. 

*Note: The entrance fee mentioned is applicable to non-resident.

SUNSET AND FIREFLIES EXPERIENCE

If we are to rate some of the destinations with difficult access from places to places, Sandakan will be on the list for sure. Located approximately 40 minutes drive from the town, there is this small village that lives by a smaller river with mangroves. This is an amazing place for fireflies during the night. 

The tour activities organised by the local villagers at the price of RM85.00/person include experiencing the local village life with some villagers' games and the river cruise along the mangrove where you will be able to experience throwing crab traps and collecting them on the way back just as the local villagers would do. Depending on your luck, there are also possibilities you will be seeing some wildlife like the proboscis monkeys on this cruise. Stopping by a small island, there you will be having a coconut drink and enjoy the sunset. After the sunset, you will return towards the village passing same or different route, to look for the firelies. As it is not a tour that is too touristic and the tour is in the wild, at times you will be seeing things that surprises you, in a good way of course. Then, you may opt to whether have dinner with them at the price of RM30.00/person, or we normally recommend our guests to just come back to town after the tour for dinner at around 8:00p.m. And that is the end of the tour.

As this place is not one of those place that it is easy access, we recommend our guests to take their transfer service at RM70.00/vehicle, which is reasonable for a return transfer accommodating a maximum of 4 people.

HALF A DAY WITH SANDAKAN'S HISTORY

Sandakan is one of the places that is affected by the WWII, and the incident is one that worth remembering. Walking along the some of the spots of the Sandakan Heritage Trail like The Parish of St. Michael and All Angels, The Agnes Keith's House would help you having a glimpse of what happened back then. Other places along the Heritage Trail might not be totally relevant to the WWII, but they are some really old buildings or places that we keep as heritage. 

These places are all walking distance from the hostel, and most of them do not require an entrance fee; some do because they upkeep the place for your visitation, or require extra manning in providing the service. The walk along the trail may take one hour to two depending on how many spot you intended to do. 

Another place that helps us understand the history or have a better image of the incident will be the Sandakan War Memorial Park that is seven mile from the town. You may take a bus from the town at the rate of RM2.00-RM3.00 per person to have them drop you at the junction, and you may walk about 700 meters to the Memorial Park. You will find a park nice for walking and some information of the incident, not bad spending an hour or two there.